Animal Scientific Board

Animal aims to publishing the best research in animal science and provide the best publishing experience for authors and readers. With this goal, Animal has consolidated an international Scientific Board constituted by a very diverse group of scientists with a broad spectrum of backgrounds. The Scientific Board works to identify and drive initiatives to significantly increase the attractiveness of Animal for authors and readers in the animal science domain. The Scientific Board is organized in three groups: Attracting content group, Authors’ experience group and CommsOpen group. Scientific Board activities are coordinated by Nicolas Friggens from the National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment – INRAE, France.


Attracting content group

Role: The Attracting content group aims to enhance the scientific standing and attractiveness of Animal through attracting high quality citable content.


Dr Oswald Matika (Chair), The Roslin Institute and Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, University of Edinburgh, EH25 9RG, UK.

Dr Charlotte Gaillard, PEGASE, INRAE, Institut Agro, 35590, Saint Gilles, France.

Dr David Torrallardona, Institute of Agrifood Research and Technology (IRTA), Catalonia, Spain.

Dr Partha Ray, University of Reading, UK.

Dr Rodolfo Ungerfeld, Universidad de la República, Uruguay.

Dr Smaragda Tsairidou, The Roslin Institute and Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, University of Edinburgh, EH25 9RG, UK.

Prof Phil Vercoe, The University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia.


Authors’ experience group

Role: The Authors’ experience group aims to evaluate current practices and develop Animal’s strategy and methodologies for the improvement of authors’ experience; work with the editorial team and publisher to identify areas for improvement in author experience; provide input to the editorial team to maintain high standards of editorial process, develop editorial policy and ethics.


Dr Sokratis Stergiadis (Chair), Associate Professor in Animal Science, University of Reading, United Kingdom. Website:

Dr Alessio Cecchinato, Associate Professor of Animal Breeding and Genetics, Department of Agronomy, Food, Natural resources, Animals and Environment. University of Padova, Italy. Website:

Prof Alan Duncan, Prof of Livestock and Development, University of Edinburgh, UK and Principal Livestock Scientist, International Livestock Research Institute, Ethiopia. Website: .

Dr Michael Cockram, Chair in Animal Welfare, Professor, Department of Health Management, Atlantic Veterinary College, University of Prince Edward Island, Canada. Website:

Prof Philippe Schmidely, Professor of Animal Science, AgroParisTech (Paris Institute of Technology for Life, Food and Environmental Sciences. Website:

Dr. Sandra Rodriguez Zas, Professor of Bioinformatics and Biostatistics, Department of Animal Sciences, Department of Statistics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA. Website:


CommsOpen group

Role: The CommsOpen group develops actions to promoting the journal, and to develop engagement in open science.


Rachel Gervais (Chair), Department of Animal Sciences, Faculté des Sciences de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation, Laval University, Canada.

Gesa Busch, Marketing for Food and Agricultural Products, Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Development, University of Göttingen, Germany.

Ilan Halachmi, Agricultural Research Organization –ARO, Israel.

Rafael Muñoz-Tamayo, National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment – INRAE, France.

Mogens Vestergaard, Department of Animal Science, Aarhus University, Denmark.

Maggie Mitchell, British Society of Animal Science,